RSS Feed

Another Day in Paradise

Posted on

Being unemployed is so boring.  I really want to go to work.  I swear.  I feel guilty sitting around not making any money sending my resume out to people in this hot house.  It’s not my favorite thing.

I had a job interview today that started with a math quiz.  You should know that math is my least favorite subject.  It’s not that I was ever particularly terrible at it in school.  I just thought it was completely boring and pointless, and I wanted nothing to do with it whatsoever.  So much so that I took college algebra while still a junior in high school, and I haven’t taken a math class since.  Yet somehow at English department meetings, I’d always end up being the one who had to figure up statistics and such.  How did that happen?  And how did this post become a rant about math?  I’ve been doing a lot of it lately trying to figure up the logistics of a bakery business.  Again, not my favorite part.  Not nearly as fun as those pumpkin scones I hope to be baking soon.

So that job interview I went to…  Yeah, I thought I had a point.  It was at Great Harvest Bread for the position of bread kneader/baker or something like that.  It lasted all of ten minutes.  After acing my math test, I think, she asked me what I do in my free time, what my long term plans are, and what my dream job would be.  That was about it.  I had been racking my brain all morning to remember everything I could about gluten and yeast and steam.  I am not much of a bread baker.  I’ve just never had the space.  Plus it’s really something you have to learn from a human, and not one on TV.  I’d love to learn more though.  I hope I get this job.  Even if I do have to get up at 3 am.

I’ll close tonight with an important life lesson.  No matter how good it tastes, don’t eat the second awesomely delicious homemade taco.  It’s really enjoyable at the moment.  But guess what.  You weren’t actually hungry.  You were just eating it because it tasted good, and now you’ll be fat and have fewer leftovers.  Don’t be greedy.  Step away from the taco.  You’ll thank me later.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

3 responses »

  1. Interviewing is tough, I have never felt so overwhelmed by the thought of such underwhelming questions. In the end things will pan out and truer paths will reveal themselves. Remember that what ever happens until you find a job is only prelude to the bigger story. You set the tone right now for those future moments of success. All the best!!!

    Reply
  2. Hope you got it! Being unemployed is not only boring, but really lonely.

    Reply
  3. BAHAHA this is hilarious. I’m right there with you, I HATE math, yet somehow I ended up working in Accounting & Secretarial departments. How the heck?! lol. Good luck on the job interview, they’d be lucky to have you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

