RSS Feed

Time Ticks On

Posted on

My time with Emily is growing shorter and shorter.  Yesterday I went into her room to wake her up at a quarter after nine just because I was bored, and I didn’t want to waste a day with her sleeping.  We watched more Harry Potter and went window shopping at the mall.  It’s getting to be more interesting now because she wants to look at clothes and accessories instead of spending an hour in Build-A-Bear.  God, that’s dull.  I loved seeing what kind of clothes she was in to and talking about the kind of music she likes.  I’m so glad she thinks Miley Cyrus and Miranda Cosgrove suck.

I can’t believe my baby is going to middle school this year.  She’s nearly a teenager.  It makes me feel so old.  And yet, also so proud and excited.  When she said thank you to me in Claire’s, the shop girl was so surprised and impressed that a child would actually say thank you to her mother.  Well, obviously.  That’s what polite kids do.  Then I realized there aren’t actually that many polite kids around.  Most of them are spoiled rotten.

My baby is creative and sensitive and humble.  She has an extraordinary empathy for her age.  She’s always been keenly aware of other people’s feelings and possessed an emotional maturity well beyond her age.  I couldn’t have a cooler kid.

This is my last full day with her.  I’m trying not to think about it.  I want to spend it having fun.  I don’t want her to cry.  I’ll save all of my sorrow until after she’s gone.  I can’t begin to explain how much I’ll miss her.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

