RSS Feed

Down in a Hole

Posted on

I meant to write my post last night.  Really, I did.  I had my laptop right next to me and everything.  But I had a bit of an upset stomach, so I laid down on the bed, and before I knew it, I had fallen into one of those sickly sleeps.  You know the kind, when you feel like you’re at the bottom of  a deep dark hole.  You can hear what’s going on around you even, but you can’t do anything about it.  People ask you a question and all you can do is sort of grunt and maybe wave your hand.  I attribute this condition to too much sugar and too much heat.  Too much easy access to food and plenty of excuses to eat whatever I want isn’t having a positive effect on me.

Truthfully though, yesterday was a pretty boring day anyway.  It mostly consisted of cleaning up the house and waiting around for my dad.  He made a breakfast of pancakes and bacon from my meager kitchen stores.  We only had to rush out to the store for syrup, so it could have been worse.

After breakfast, we waited around some more and then eventually ended up at Waikiki beach for a bit of body surfing.  Well, I mostly just floated around in the ocean on the boogie board.  We were in the exact same spot and under the exact same conditions in which I got my horrible sunburn last year, so I didn’t stay out too long.  The late afternoon sun can be brutal to your skin.

Emily and I walked over to the Hokulani Bakeshop to try some of their expensive gourmet cupcakes because, you know, we had to check out the competition.  The cupcakes were standard size with really more of a dollop of frosting than the usual mound that you see at most places.  They were simply decorated, but still very pretty.  Emily had a vanilla/vanilla, and I had a lilikoi (passion fruit) cupcake with lemon butter cream.  They both had good flavor and were very moist.  But it didn’t crush my spirits.  I am completely confident that I could make something as good or better.

I also did a bit of figuring and research about the cost of the cupcakes that I made the other day and the prices other bakeries are charging.  Wow, the mark up on cupcakes is ridiculous.  I’m going to be able to offer cupcakes on my website for much less than fancy bakeries are currently selling them for.  Though I suppose I should probably get myself a legitimate business first.

Emily and I made hello dolly bars last night.  She loves them and insists I will like them, too, even though I don’t like coconut or pecans.  We’ll see.  But it made her happy, so we made them.  And making her happy is what matters.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

