RSS Feed

Exploration

Posted on

What?  It’s Sunday already?  Surely not.  How did that happen?

We promised ourselves that we’d take Sunday off and spend it doing something fun.  I think we’ve earned it.  It’s been a hectic and stressful week.  In fact, this time a week ago, we were still finishing packing up our apartment in Taiwan.  Did that blow your mind?  It did for me.  So after a full week of packing, moving, working, walking, and calling, we took one day just for ourselves before we head back to our respective tasks tomorrow.

We started our day with a drive up to Manoa Falls trail head.  I discovered that it only takes about two dollars to fill up my scooter, which was pretty spectacular.  I’ve decided that driving a scooter is the only way to go.  When driving through scenic roads up tropical mountains past gorgeous homes, who wants to have their view constricted by a car?  I don’t know why so many people bother with them here, especially because parking is such a pain.  I have to say, I was amazed by the views while simply driving to the trail.

The actual hike up to the waterfall was pretty spectacular as well.  It starts our fairly wide and flat, but gets narrower, rockier, and more slippery the higher you go.  There were gorgeous trees towering above us on either side.  It was so interesting to think about how few people had probably walked there just two hundred years ago.  The waterfall itself is beautiful, but you can’t get too close.  After a landslide a few years back, they now have a wire that keeps people well away.  It was completely worth the hike up, and the slightly treacherous hike back down.  And extra cool that we spotted a white cockatoo perched in a tree along the road just outside the parking lot.  Actually, we heard him first.  I wonder if he really lives there or if he’s someone’s escaped pet.

After washing the mud off of our legs and changing clothes, we grabbed lunch and headed into Kapiolani Park for the annual Na Hula festival.  I wanted to see some of the dancing I remembered from my childhood.  I was amazed that I actually recognized some of the songs.  In the heat of the day, it was hard to stay for very long, but I enjoyed watching them perform for the short time we were there.

During the hottest part of the day, what else is there to do in Waikiki on a Sunday afternoon than swim in the sea?  We followed our dip with a walk all the way down the beach to the west, turning around only when we hit a residential street.  We walked back through the park, scoping out the best places for a BBQ picnic next weekend.  We also walked along the back gate of the zoo and managed to see the head of a giraffe poking out over the fence.  How often does that happen?  Not a bad Sunday, in my opinion.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

