RSS Feed

Not All Who Wander Are Lost

Posted on

Well, I trekked a few more miles today, though by choice this time.  Believe me, it makes a difference.  My feet and legs are still a bit sore and blistered, but I must be getting stronger.  The best way to explore a new city is on foot, though, so off we went for an urban hike in search of furniture stores we never found.  What we did find was a bunch of delicious smelling restaurants.  After two years of stinky tofu, this was a real treat.  I also had a stroll through an organic food store.  I can’t afford to shop there, but I’d rather window shop at a grocery store than at a mall.  It was beautiful.

Eventually, we found ourselves back on Kapahulu, which is where our new home is located.  We walked all the way down it back to the hotel.  Along the way, we stopped into the Safeway behind our apartment to pick up some tidbits for lunch.  The bakery there is gorgeous, and they even do gourmet $3 cupcakes.  I’d love to get a job there to learn more about decorating.

There are so many great restaurants and little shops on our street.  There’s even a famous Portuguese bakery called Leonard’s directly across the street.  I’m going to have to keep up this business of walking a million miles every day because I want to eat everything.  Apparently we won’t be able to stop into any of the neighborhood bars for a drink on a Friday night, though because they don’t take kindly to white folks, apparently.  Maybe if we get invited by a local and then they get to know us.  We’ll see.

Back at the hotel in Waikiki, I may have taken the smallest of naps before setting out on foot in search of a bookstore at the Hilton Hawaiian Village.  I never found the bookstore, but I did get to walk all the way back along the beach with my feet in the waves.  It was beautiful.  I caught a few minutes of the hula show on Kuhio beach before heading back to meet Geoff after work.

We just finished devouring delicious cheeseburgers at Teddy’s Bigger Burger.  The prices were reasonable and the burgers were great.  Everything is made fresh, so it takes a bit longer than McDonald’s, but the taste of the chargrilled burger is completely worth it.  I definitely recommend this place for a low budget meal.  I really want to try a milkshake next time.  They looked amazing.

I can’t believe this place is my home.  I am so lucky and so grateful.  Come visit me.  You’ll love it.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

