RSS Feed

Vacation’s Over

Posted on

I said we were only taking one day to rest, and I meant it.  I don’t know how many miles I walked today, but it was too many.  It’s the end of the day, and I still don’t have a scooter.  I’m very disappointed.  But I’m getting ahead of myself.

We woke up at 7 am, which proved to be much too early for my weary eyes.  We had our first experience with the free hotel breakfast.  It consisted of hard boiled eggs, toast, and doughnut holes.  When the place is only $60 a night, you don’t complain.  Our room is really nice and has reliable and fast wifi which makes it totally worth it to me.  I can eat a gourmet breakfast some other time.  It filled me up, and really, that’s all that matters.  Anyway…

After that, Geoff set off for his first day at work, and I walked over to a scooter shop I’d seen online, hoping to come home with a new scooter.  Turns out I should have called first, as both of the shops in that area had no used scooters available to sell.  So I walked back, defeated, and plucked up the courage to make about a million phone calls about scooters and apartments on Craigslist.  I set up two appointments today, but only managed to make it to one of them.  Clearly I wasn’t paying attention when using Google Maps.  I could have sworn it said it was a 32 minute walk, but after an hour and a half, I was still over a half a mile away from where I was supposed to be, never mind being an hour late.  So I abandoned poor Ernie, and started walking back.

To my surprise, Geoff actually got home from work around 2:30, so I talked him into walking all the way out to see the second apartment with me.  As I suspected, it was dark and cramped and in a not so hot neighborhood.  I think that’s just what we’re going to have to live with, unless we break down and get a studio for the first six months.

My toes were already blistered at this point, but we still had to walk back.  We stopped into a few more scooter shops on the way back, and it looks like we might have to pay around eight or nine hundred each for our scooters.  They’ll be fairly new though, which is something I’ve never experienced before.

This post is immensely boring, but my day was immensely tedious, so that’s what you get.  We ended it by having overpriced but delicious sandwiches at Subway, and staring at the moon with our feet in the ocean.  Pretty sweet, in my opinion.  I have to do a lot more walking tomorrow if I don’t get a scooter, so I don’t think I’ll be moving from this bed any time soon.  My legs are killing me.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

