RSS Feed

Leaving Party

Posted on

The leaving party is an important part of the expat experience.  Everybody has one, and you can’t leave Taiwan without it.  One final chance to get together with your friends and act like a fool.  We had ours last night, and my body is reminding me just how foolish I was.

We met everybody at our favorite place, the Early Bird Diner.  It was a good thing too because I was starving.  Naturally, we showed up with two homemade cakes.  When do I ever go anywhere without cake these days?  It was wonderful to see so many people, old friends and new, come to say goodbye.  Some people even gave us gifts, which was an extremely pleasant surprise.

Besides all the white Russians that were consumed, I think I might have put everyone on the edge of diabetic shock.  I cannot believe how much pumpkin cake Matt managed to eat.  I hope his heart is still working today.

We have met so many wonderful people during our time in Taiwan, both fellow foreigners and Taiwanese friends.  I cannot begin to express how much I appreciate my Taiwan family.  They supported me through a huge transition in my life.  I would have been lost without their friendship.

We’ll have an extra bedroom in Hawaii, so I expect everybody to come and visit.  It’s a win-win situation.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

