RSS Feed

Frustration Friday

Posted on

It was my last day of work.  I should have been elated.  But I wasn’t.  I was annoyed, irritated, frustrated, and otherwise generally pissed off.  My students were just as rude and disrespectful as ever, but I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised.  The worst part was finding out I had to sub after lunch.  On my last day of work.  Are you kidding me?  Luckily, those children were delightful.  And I owe a big shout out to my workmate Chris, who allowed me to get the much needed nap that warded off my sore throat and sinus headache.  Huge appreciation.

Even though half of my stuff is in a suitcase, and the other half is going in this morning, I still really don’t feel like anything unusual is happening.  My mind hasn’t been able to wrap itself around the fact that my entire life is about to change.  I’ve been finding Taiwan and my inability to adjust to its many eccentricities excessively frustrating lately.  It feels like it’s been such a prolonged goodbye.  Let’s just go already.

Yet there are still three days to go.  Today is our leaving party.  I’m hoping there will be more than three people as I decided to make two cakes.  Sunday I expect will be spent cleaning up the apartment and turning this place into an indoor garage sale as we try to save as much stuff from the landfill as possible by giving it away.  I don’t know how to access the Taiwanese version of Goodwill, if there is one.  Monday I have to go to work to collect my final pay and then go to the bank to change and transfer money and close my account.  Then the landlord comes around, we hand over our keys and get our deposit back, and it’s off to the hotel.

Tuesday the shuttle van comes to pick us up at 9 am and we’re finally out of here.  All my possession packed neatly away, I depart this island for the last time.  I’m ready.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

3 responses »

  1. In Taipei, we’ve got big green donation boxes scattered through the city for clothes and smaller things. As for furniture, there really seems to be no Goodwill-type operation; you’ve got to go the religious route, most likely. Find a big church or temple and they’ll probably be keen to pick it up.

    That’s what I had to do when I moved.

    Reply
  2. Ooooh! A little forumosa searching turned up this animal charity in Taizhong:

    “Charity Shop
    B1, 150 Minsheng Road
    Taichung

    It’s near the National Taichung Education University in downtown Taichung.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

