RSS Feed

Feeling Young

Posted on

Waking up Sunday morning feeling terribly old had an interesting effect.  It may have made me slightly reckless, but with the best possible results.  During a long relaxing morning of waiting for our friend to get off work so we could finally go have brunch, I stumbled upon this page.  It was all over.  I was obsessed.  I must have gone back and looked at the page at least ten times.  So when we were on our way to the diner, and Geoff announced he wanted to go get his haircut afterwards, I started to get crazy ideas.

I managed to load the blog onto my phone using the wifi in the diner, and then I just didn’t touch it.  When we got into the salon, I easily let Geoff and Zach talk me into asking the stylist if he could do that to my hair.  After a lengthy conversation involving a waitress from across the street acting as translator, it was determined that something like that could be done.  The stylist that I go to is great.  He seems to take great care in his work.  The problem is, it’s difficult to get exactly what you want, since we can’t speak to each other.  But that’s my fault for not learning their language, so I’m extremely appreciative.

I was a bit nervous as he was painting bright red, green and blue onto my hair, but as soon as it started to dry and flashes of color started flitting around from the back of my head, I got really excited.  I love it.  It makes me feel young and unique.  It was the perfect quick ego boost.  I don’t have a photo yet.  Maybe tomorrow.

After all this excitement and a bit of shopping, we came home for the main event of the day that made everybody feel like a kid.  I had made a bunch of delicious sugar cookies the night before.  I spread out on the table the cookies, three types of frosting, chocolate chips, and a variety of sprinkles.  Everybody got to decorate their own cookies and send themselves into a sugar coma.  It was a blast.

This was the last weekend with our two closest friends, Zach and Gill.  They both stayed out our house Saturday and Sunday night.  It was great to have them with us.  They are absolutely family.  I’m looking forward to starting a new life in a new place, but I will miss them most of all.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

