RSS Feed

Baking, Scheming

Posted on

Soon I’ll be living in a place where I assume people are actually expected to obey health codes, regulations, and laws.  No longer will I simply be able to bake some stuff, show up somewhere, and sell it.  I’ll have to do silly things like pass health inspections and pay taxes.  What a bother.

Here’s the problem.  I love baking, and I don’t want to give it up.  However, baking can get expensive, not to mention detrimental to a bikini body.  I’ve been thinking of some ways I can continue to keep my tiny side business afloat whilst undergoing the transition to legitimate operation.  These are just some wild ideas that have been running through my brain.  Your thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I’m thinking of expanding the Treatsies blog to include recipes.  Being isolated in Hawaii, I figure this might get a few more readers who, on the off chance that they take a vacation to my island, might want to order a box of fresh home baked treats to be delivered to their hotel.  Of course made, whenever possibly, with local ingredients to add to the kitsch.

I’ve also thought about putting up some flyers around the university.  A lot of college kids don’t have kitchens or have no idea how to cook, but might love to have some home baked treats delivered to their dorm.  Drunken cupcakes would be perfect for a sorority party, right?

What I eventually want to do is get into farmer’s markets and festivals, but I don’t want to have to stop baking and creating new things in the mean time.  The problem with the blog is that I’m a horrible photographer and have no interest in learning the skill.  I thought I might put an ad on Craigslist for someone who wants to practice some food photography and get paid in treats.  You never know.  Some student might be up for it.

So, what do you think?  Worst ideas ever, right.  But I’m not giving up, no matter how ridiculous.  I’m thinking the first cupcake I want to try when I get to Hawaii is a mai tai.  Want one?

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

One response »

  1. A quick fix for producing better photographs is the lighting. A cheap way of producing the soft lighting for food photographs is to get a lamp or two, complete with shade and cover the top with baking paper. One at either side of the treats, laid on their with the light emitting from the paper end and the flash turned off, should product the photograph you are looking for. Also might be worth taking the photographs in Macro mode and rest the camera on a pile of books to gain the correct height and reduce shaking.

    But photographs for treats would prob also work 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

