RSS Feed

Triumphs and Failures

Posted on

When faced with adversity, it’s the little things that make a big difference.  After a startling morning of feeling like I was choking to death things eventually calmed down.  Geoff recommended I take a puff of an inhaler we have in the medicine drawer to try to help ease the constriction in my chest.  I don’t know if it worked, but later at McDonald’s while eating breakfast, my hands were shaking and I felt really jittery.  I have no idea if the two are related or if this was just more physical manifestations of my anxiety.

We bought two suitcases in as many days, and after Geoff carried the second one home from the store in 95 degree heat at 9:30 in the morning, we had a hard time cooling off and getting comfortable.  We decided the only thing for it was to go lay down in the bedroom and blast the ac with the doors shut.  Eventually we both fell back asleep.  It was a much needed rest, I’m sure.

By far the best part of the day happened at Tiger City where I got to eat honey chipotle chicken crispers from Chili’s and then went upstairs to purchase our tickets for Harry Potter on Friday night.  I was disappointed when I found out the film actually starts playing on the 14th.  Not sure why.  But as Geoff works until 9, and I have to be to work at 8:30 am on Friday, we decided it would be best to just wait until Friday night, sadly at 11:05.  But at least it will make Harry Potter last one more day.  I’m such a nerd.

I then came home to make some cookies for a customer.  I was a bit shy of the amount of oats I needed, and it turns out it makes a big difference in the cookies.  They’re coming out much to thin and crisp, so I’ll have to give them another go tomorrow to make sure they’re perfect for a paying customer.  It was a bonus for us and our guests tonight though, as everyone ended up getting to eat the messed up cookies.

I go back to work tomorrow.  I’m in a bit of denial.  But that’s all part of being an adult I suppose.  Geoff’s putting together a pretty impressive presentation of documents to make our case for domicile.  Waiting sucks.  That is all.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

