RSS Feed

Deep Breaths

Posted on

So after a traumatic day yesterday, complete with a total breakdown when Geoff got home from work, we attempted to sign up online for a few more online bank accounts.  Unfortunately, my credit is ruined.  I take responsibility for this and will be working to set it right when I return to America, but it was a problem for me last night.  After a few hours of trying this and that, we decided that it was time to just go to bed and try to deal with it in the morning.

I woke up at 6:30, even though I had set my alarm for 8.  After calling Bank of Hawaii, I decided the best thing to do was to try to get a joint account with a family member from back home.  Without a US bank account in my name, it’s pretty much impossible for me to open a US bank account online.  Luckily, I was able to get in touch with my grandmother, who said she’d help.  I did my best to hold back the tears.  It was so good to finally talk to someone from my family, and even better for her to say that she’d help me, and that I wasn’t alone.  So I’ll be up in the middle of the night checking my email to make sure she has all the information she needs to help me get a bank account in the US.

I sent about a million emails about apartments this morning, so by noon, we had done nearly everything we could think of to help prove our intent to relocate to Hawaii.  Geoff plans to go back on Monday with more documentation.  We’ll just keep going back every Monday and Thursday with more and more papers until they finally give us the visa.  It’s completely up to the discretion of the interview officer.  A total stranger.  If he even knew a little bit about us, he’d have no doubt about our sincerity.  He’d know that this has been our dream for a year.  It’s just not fair.

Throwing caution to the wind, we went and saw our travel agent today to pay for our one-way tickets to Honolulu.  No return.  When we’re there, we stay there.  Why isn’t that enough for immigration officials?  It’s so frustrating.  He also found us a pretty decently priced hotel very near the zoo, so that if Geoff needs to start working right away, he’ll be able to walk to work.  I think I’ve spent an entire month’s salary in two days.

I’m still extremely anxious, but starting to feel a bit more human.  I actually had a bit to eat for lunch and dinner.  I had a nap and a shower.  I feel like I can at least breathe again.  Hopefully when I wake up, I’ll have a bank account.  Then maybe I can transfer a bunch of money from my Taiwan account.  I know all these details must be so dull to read, but this is the frustration we’ve been living with for the past 6 months.  I just want this part to be over so I can deal with all the new frustrations that come with moving.  So I just keep breathing.  Just keep putting one foot in front of the other until I finally get where I need to be.  One breath at a time.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

