RSS Feed

Taipei on Tuesday

Posted on

Just a quick word to say that I’ll be back to write my real post for yesterday later on.  I just don’t have the energy at the moment.  A lot has happened in the last 24 hours, and I need to take a deep breath and probably a nap.

Three hours later…

So, no nap.  I ended up filling out a job application.  But I’m here to talk about Tuesday because I’m woefully behind due to a complete and total lack of reliable wifi in Taipei.

We lounged around in the morning, Geoff double and triple checking that he had all the proper paperwork and bringing a bunch of stuff that we might but probably wouldn’t need.  I drove him to work and then brought his scooter back here so it would be left at home while we were out of the house.  We were going to have a night out, so I put on a dress and attempted to do something with my hair, but failed.  Then I took a cab to his school, from which we caught a cab to the HSR station.

The view from platform 2B is actually quite lovely.  We sat for about a half hour watching the sun set and the regular trains roll by below us.  It might have been one of the most romantic settings I’ve ever experienced in Taiwan.

Geoff was almost too excited to ride the HSR.  He hates roller coasters, so this is about the fastest speed I can get him to travel on land.  The train was right on time, very comfortable with plenty of leg room, and just as high speed as was promised.  We arrived in Taipei almost exactly one hour after boarding, and that included four stops.

We caught the MRT and then walked (in three inch heels) to our swank hotel.  I think this might have been the nicest hotel room I’ve ever stayed in.  It had a soft king size bed and a big jacuzzi bathtub.  We walked again for about fifteen minutes to Alley Cat, a great basement pizza joint with cider on tap.  The cold cider was perfect after our walk in the night time heat of Taipei.  Our thin crust pizza was crisp and flavorful, though the sausage did have a mysterious Taiwanese flavor that I couldn’t quite pinpoint.

After another walk back to the hotel (still in those sexy heels) I was so ready to enjoy an actual bathtub.  I was so nervous for the next day, I needed something to help me calm down.  As you can no doubt tell from my tone, our news the next morning was not exactly what I had hoped it would be.  But we’ll get to that later.  The Taipei hotel room was comfortable and luxurious and so worth the little bit of a splurge.  I had an absolutely lovely evening with the man I love.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

