RSS Feed

Day of Rest

Posted on

Today we had a well-earned day of laziness.  I did nothing but eat, sleep, watch TV, and go for a walk.  It was wonderful.  I slept like a rock in the middle of the day.  That has to be one of my favorite things to do.  It leaves me with a dilemma, though.  What the heck am I going to write about?

While on our walk today, we bought a Lonely Planet travel guide for Oahu.  One of the things I’m so excited about is that there will be plenty of free and amazing things to do when we get to Hawaii.  Let’s do a quick google image search…

This looks fun/deadly.  There are hiking trails everywhere through lush tropical jungle up the sides of volcanoes.  I think it will take a while to get tired of these gorgeous views.

Or maybe this one Saturday afternoon.  This is a picture I found of Manoa Waterfall.  Gorgeous waterfalls are like the English equivalent of castles.  I mean, they’re just lying around everywhere.  You can practically trip over them.

Oh, and did I forget to mention those gorgeous beaches in every direction?  I mean seriously people, how soon can you get bored of this?  I ask you.  I am going to keep a gallon of sunblock next to the front door.  I doubt I’ll ever want to stay indoors again.

There’s plenty of man-made beauty as well.  This is the Byodo-In Temple.  You’d think I would have had my fill of Buddhist temples after two years in Taiwan.  They have one around every corner here.  But I think I’d be willing to make a special trip for something like this.  I think I may have gone there as a child.  I can’t quite remember.

I also want to scope out all the local farmers’ markets, not only to ogle all the gorgeous food, but also to do some research and find out if I could eventually have my own stall at some of the markets to sell some treatsies and start saving up for our very own treatsies truck.

Somebody tried to tell us that Hawaii was boring.  I don’t know what your idea of fun is, but just being in this place is mesmerizing.  Perhaps I will get bored after a while stuck on a small island.  Um…  I seriously doubt it.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

