RSS Feed

This Screen is Blank

Posted on

My stats have been very low lately.  People have stopped reading.  C’est la vie.  It’s not a popularity contest, just a record of my life.  As it turns out, my life is  not very interesting most of the time.  I did try to warn you.  I’m guessing your life is probably not very exciting on a day to day basis either.

I recently read about something that Kurt Vonnegut used to say on his speaking tours.  I actually remember him saying the same thing and drawing the same diagrams when I saw him speak at Oklahoma City University.  He talked about how everybody always expects their life to be like a movie or a book, with these huge dramatic swings between ecstasy and misery because that’s how it is in the movies.

But authors and directors usually leave out all the times in between where their characters are just going to work every day or sitting on the couch watching TV.  All those times in between the highs and lows, that’s your real life.  Those are the moments where we mostly dwell.  If we were constantly swinging between misery and ecstasy, we’d be diagnosed with bipolar disorder.  Extremes of pain and excitement aren’t actually healthy.  But it sure does make for excellent storytelling.

So, yesterday I had another frustrating and futile day at work, then I came home and baked some truly spectacular devil’s food cupcakes inspired by Nigella Lawson.  They are gorgeous.  I can’t wait to top them with the heroine of frostings, peanut butter cream cheese frosting by the Neelys.  I first made this for the peanut butter and jelly cupcakes, and it was so good, I’ve been trying to put it on everything I can get my hands on ever since.  The cream cheese gives it just the slightest tanginess that cuts through the peanut butter, which can sometimes be a bit heavy all on it’s own.  It’s divine.  See, in Taiwan, they don’t sell Reese’s peanut butter cups.  Anywhere.  Not even at the import shops for twice as much as they usually cost.  The only way to get them is to have them sent from the states.  So I’m making a cupcake version which, while not the same, will be outrageously terrific in it’s own way.

Then I headed off in the rain to have dinner with my husband.  Even though the diner was uncharacteristically packed and noisy, he couldn’t seem to take his eyes off me the whole evening, which made me blush.  I married a spectacular man.

It’s a simple beautiful life I lead.  Nothing too exciting is happening.  Geoff got his interview date for his green card.  July 6th.  We should know then if we’ll be able to go to Hawaii or not.  Trying to stay patient, and enjoying the quiet moments of my life.  Sometimes it’s better this way.  I spent a long time in the agony of despair.  I’m quite content to be perfectly normal, thank you very much.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

