RSS Feed

The Kindness Experiment

Posted on

I am the self-proclaimed queen of self-loathing.  Nobody can insult me quite as heartily as I can.  It would blow your mind.  So every once in a while, I like to go a little crazy and say some things I actually like about myself.  Since yesterday’s post was such a downer, I thought I should remind myself, and maybe you, that I am not a complete miserable loser.

When I have a pedicure, I have very pretty feet.  A lot of feet are ugly, no matter what you do to them, but mine are slender with high arches and straight toes.  They look amazing in sexy heels.  Which leads to another thing I do well.  I can walk very well in high heel shoes.  I am poised and confident and perhaps even graceful.  Even though I am about six feet tall with the added elevation, I stand up straight and tower above everyone because tall girls deserve hot shoes, too.  I don’t think women should wear heels unless they can handle them.  This is one of my skills.

Oh, one more posture related talent is that I am really good at walking around with objects balanced on my head.  This is in no way useful, but I do it all the time because I think it’s funny.

I can cook your face off.  Not every single recipe comes out exactly right the first time, but I can always fix it by the second try.  Savory or sweet, I have acquired enough knowledge to make most everything I attempt taste amazing.  I have developed a few techniques from television that help make my food come out perfectly.  I am no chef, and I know my limits, but don’t pass up an opportunity to eat dinner at my house.  I’ll make you something delicious.

I enjoy believing in impossible things.  I love reading about magic.  I am whimsical and silly, and I laugh loudly and often.  I believe that love can save the world.  If only more people would participate in the extravagant love of God, we would be much closer to peace.  And I believe that it is in our nature to love and care for one another.  I am not concerned with proof.  I believe it because I know it to be true.  I accept that it is irrational.  I don’t care.  There is nothing anyone can say to make me stop believing in love.

I think that’s quite enough niceness for one day.  I might be sick.  Can I go back to being grumpy tomorrow?

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

