RSS Feed

Dementors Descend

Posted on

I’ve been putting off writing for as long as possible today as I’ve been feeling distinctly blue.  I wonder if this flash of sluggishness could possibly be related to the fact that I started listening to Stephen Fry read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix.  Harry is in a distinctly bad mood through most of this book.  Maybe his sullenness is rubbing off on me.  Or maybe I’m just a super nerd.

It does sort of feel like something just descends upon me sometimes.  Like all the cheerfulness has been sucked away by some looming phantom.  This is just one more example of the brilliant and miraculous way that literature reveals the truth about life.

Perhaps it’s just the fact that it’s Wednesday, halfway through the week and heading into my most stressful days at work.  And then there’s also the Wednesday staff meeting, which usually piles on the anxiety and the feeling that my existence is futile.  We are repeatedly blamed for student failures while the school administration does nothing to control student behavior and create a positive atmosphere.  It’s endlessly frustrating.  Most every Wednesday afternoon I want to cry or quit or both.  This week was mild.  But now my brain is conditioned to react badly every time I walk into the meeting room.

The good news is, there’s chicken baking in the oven right now in a pool of salsa, brown sugar, and mustard.  It smells amazing, and I’m hoping for a good outcome.  Good food makes everything better.  I hope your Wednesday is filled with laughter.  I hope that you skip down the road singing at the top of your lungs.  I think it’s as close as us muggles can get to a patronus.  Oh, and maybe eat some chocolate.  Where’s mine?

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

One response »

  1. Baaah. That chicken sounds delicious.
    I know what you mean about the “happy being sucked out.” I feel a bit down lately too. Maybe it’s that time of year.. or month? Haha. Either way, I’m sicka bein’ sad!
    Love you, lady. Don’t let them keep you down!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

