RSS Feed

Back to Normal

Posted on

Life was almost back to its old self yesterday.  I felt almost human at work, even though Fridays are always a long hard day.  I drove completely out of my way to buy a rotating cake stand, so that was pretty normal.  I managed to summon up the energy to get into my kitchen and bake a cake, and we went for our traditional Friday night dinner at the Early Bird Diner.

The cake was Victoria sponge.  The ingredients were very simple and few, so I wanted to be very careful to fix the recipe precisely.  However, without a stand mixer, I almost never have the patience and arm muscle endurance to cream the butter and sugar for the full five minutes.  I couldn’t find my tape measure, but I fear the pan I used was bigger than the one called for.  When I poured the first half of the batter in, it had so thinly covered the pan that I panicked for a bit.  But the cake rose beautiful and golden.  Everything took a little longer than I expected so by the time I got the second layer onto the cooling rack, I was thoroughly late for dinner.

Gill had decided to join us for dinner, which was a nice surprise when I finally arrived at the diner.  There was a new server, a guy who’s English seemed a bit weak.  And not feeling very hungry, I decided to order a turkey bacon swiss sandwich instead of my usual chicken parm.  I have to say, it wasn’t nearly as satisfying.  Opt for the cheese covered pasta every time.

After two glasses of wine, I was feeling every so slightly tipsy.  When I got home, I decided to go ahead and assemble my cooled cakes by spreading raspberry jam on the first layer and dusting the top with icing sugar.  It turned out quite charming, but I should try to remember not to decorate cakes when mildly inebriated in the future.  It probably would have been much neater that way.

It felt great to get back in the kitchen and bake something.  My camera was dead last night, so photos will have to wait until today.  I can’t wait to taste this golden cake.  It smelled so rich and eggy coming out of the oven.  It’s Geoff’s favorite cake, so I hope I got it right.  Perhaps this will prolong the return of his homesickness just a bit.  I don’t think either of us are exactly thrilled to be back.  But they say patience is a virtue, and I shall try to be as saintly as possible in that regard.  Paradise awaits.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

