RSS Feed

Can You Die From Jet Lag?

Posted on

I’ve felt completely horrible all day long.  At the moment, I have a pulsing headache and all I can think about is sleeping.  Really though, I should try to stay up for two more hours.  I don’t know if I can stand it.

We got in at about 10:30 last night after a record breaking bus journey back to Taichung.  As soon as we got out of the cab, the smells of the neighborhood hit me.  I had become so accustomed to the fresh clean country air in England.  The musty pollution-ridden air and stench of stinky tofu was a definite assault on my senses.  And for some reason, the white walls of our apartment when we first switched on the light had a rather surreal quality.  I can’t quite place it, but something about the brightness of the place was strange.  Perhaps it comes from two weeks of carpeted floors and wallpaper.  Thankfully it only took me about an hour to get to sleep.

When my alarm went off, I half prayed for news of a natural disaster or some other miracle that would call off school.  But alas, there was no typhoon, and I dragged myself out of my warm bed into the shower.  I at least had the good sense not to try to shave my legs in this state.  I’m not sure how I made it out the door.  I give thanks to the scooter gods that I didn’t have to kick start my Fiddle this morning, as it’s likely I would have fallen in the gutter.

Luckily, the kids were well-behaved and took it easy on me today.  They can really be sweet from time to time.  I honestly don’t have much recollection of what happened at school today other than that I didn’t vomit or fall asleep in mid-sentence.  It’s been strange to be back in Taichung amongst all the noise and crowds and heat.  Real life can be so jarring.  Fortunately for my brain, I still have to make some pasta for Geoff when he gets home which prevents me from going to bed right now.  I hope I survive tomorrow with a bit more grace.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

2 responses »

  1. I’m still reading! 🙂 Okay, forgive me if I’m asking a question that you have answered in a previous blog, but…where in the WORLD are you? And I don’t say that as an expression; I mean, literally, where in the world are you?
    Also, are you American?

    I really like your blog because you write it in an epistolary writing style. I like reading about people’s lives in different places. 🙂 I hope you are well-rested now. x Jenn

    Reply
    • That’s a perfectly legitimate question. I am an American, but I live in Taiwan. I’ve been here working as a teacher for almost two years now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

