RSS Feed

Liverpool and Chester and Old Stuff Galore

Posted on

I am nineteen hours past my deadline, but this is the first chance I’ve had to get in front of a computer.  I’ll save all the stuff we did today for later tonight.  Yesterday was fantastic.  We got up early and took the train to Liverpool to do a bit of shopping and have a drink at The Cavern.

This is the stage at The Cavern where The Beatles actually played.  It really was as small and dingy as it seemed in all the old footage.  John, Paul, George, and Ringo stood there.  It’s amazing.  We walked down about four flights of stairs to get in there.  Even though there were tons of flashes going off, I felt it was a bit too conspicuous to go around taking a million photos in what to me seemed a bit like a sacred space.

The part of Liverpool that we saw was absolutely beautiful.  When we walked out of the train station, the first thing we saw were old columned buildings and immense statues of Prince Albert and Queen Victoria.  There were theatres and museums all about.  I wish we could have spent more time exploring Liverpool.  Unfortunately, the legendary English rain finally paid us a visit and the weather was not ideal for exploring.  It was, however, perfect for meat filled pastries.  I think sausage rolls are my new favorite.

From Liverpool we hopped on another train to Chester, which is surrounded by Roman walls.  It’s full of delightfully old buildings.  I had a half pint of cider in The Boot, the oldest pub in England.  It was pretty spectacular.  The ceilings were quite low and the floor was quite uneven.  After a traditional, authentic dinner at Pizza Hut, we headed to the pub to meet up with all of Geoff’s old friends.  I think I managed to escape without embarrassing him or myself too much.  All of his friends were so funny and interesting and extremely nice to me.  We stayed with his friend Chris, who I had only ever experienced via Facebook and his voice on our PS3.  It was a bit surreal to be in a place where my husband had so many wonderful memories that I wasn’t a part of.  But I’m so glad I got to see him so happy with all of his friends.

Now it’s time for me to try haggis.  Eek.  Today’s adventures later.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

