RSS Feed

Blackpool Extravaganza

Posted on

I’m in bed early yet again.  I wish I wasn’t so exhausted.  I have no idea how I’m going to make it through a full day of sightseeing, shopping and pubs without a nap.  I’m such an old lady.

Today we got up early and drove with our friend Gaz to the charming city of Blackpool on the coast.  Think Coney Island meets state fair. There are carnival rides and games along the piers and block after block of fish and chip shops squeezed in between cheap hotels.  From a distance it looks quaint and lovely, but up close you see that everything is a bit run down and tacky.  I had the most interesting time people watching.  I saw all sorts of fabulous haircuts and horrendous ill-fitting clothing.  It was most amusing.

I had way too much British food once again today.  We had fish and chips by the Irish Sea in Blackpool.  To tell the truth, there wasn’t much flavor, even though the batter on the fish was nice and crisp.  Perhaps I’m just not used to it, but I think it needed sauce.  Unfortunately, you had to pay extra for a packet of tartar sauce, so I just ate it plain.  It filled me up quick enough, but it wasn’t my favorite food.

For dinner, we went to a carvery.  This is basically an all you can eat affair where you get a choice of meat carved off the bone by a dude in a white coat, and then load up on sides like corn (which was a bit dried out and sad) carrots, boiled potatoes, roast potatoes, peas, or cauliflower.  I also had my first Yorkshire pudding, and a stuffing ball, which was yummy.  My overall impression of British food so far is that it is a bit on the heavy side and lacking in flavor.  You’d think the Empire would have had some affect on the herbs and spices they use in their food, but alas, most things are somewhat plain.  The vegetables we ate today were definitely not fresh from the farm.  But I still ate a lot of it.  I think they rely on gravy quite a bit to add flavor to their food.  I think tomorrow I’ll try to have a salad or a small sandwich for lunch.

I’m so pleased with all the experiences I was able to have today.  I want to see and taste as much as I can while I’m here.  More adventures are planned for tomorrow, but they won’t be nearly as fun if I don’t get some sleep.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

