RSS Feed

The Calm Before

Posted on

I went around all day today with no bra and not a drop of makeup on my face, and it was glorious.  We’ve had a lovely relaxing Sunday, the last of it’s kind for a while.  The next three days will be insanely busy preparing for our trip to England.  I have so much to do before I can leave my kids for two weeks.  Even though they will be in the hands of a very capable substitute, I will still be worrying about them.  Luckily we have a few days together before their exams when I return.  There’s also everything that needs to be done at home, laundry, packing, the obligatory purchase of silly food and fashion magazines for the airplane.  If I take the wrong camera cord this time, I’ll probably cry.  It was wonderful to have this day to lounge around before everything goes crazy for a while.

I’m so excited for our trip and hoping not to geek out too much over every little thing I see that will undoubtedly remind me of something I read in a book.  I know I’ll be picked on for my accent and how little alcohol I am capable of consuming, but I am determined to enjoy myself and make the most of it, nonetheless.  I can’t wait to go into a grocery store and wander up and down the aisles and be able to actually read the labels on everything.  I know that England isn’t exactly known for its cuisine, but I am excited about the food just the same.  I’m also hoping that I’ll be able to cook dinner for Geoff’s parents once while we’re there.  I’ve heard his mother used to have to make different food for each child at dinner time.  This is a woman who deserves to put her feet up and have someone cook for her for a change.

So many things have happened in the last two years that I would have thought were impossible.  When I first got pregnant, I had this secret dread that I would never go to Europe.  Well, I’m finally about to set foot on the piece of Earth where Shakespeare and John Lennon have trod.  I can’t think of a better way to say it.  Life is unpredictable.  Plans are an illusion.  I am so lucky.  And so happy.  Tonight will be my last quiet moment.  I’m going to enjoy it.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

2 responses »

  1. Have a fantastic trip!!! You are going to enjoy it so much. Do you get to go to any castles?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

