RSS Feed

A Little Compulsive

Posted on

I have a problem.  I am a compulsive list maker.  I can’t seem to stop making lists about anything and everything.  Mostly, it’s simple to-do lists, but I also have a book list I’ve been working on for nearly ten years.  It pretty much always hovers between 275 and 300 books because I add them faster than I can read them.  I update my movie list after the Golden Globes and Oscars every year.  I look forward to the opportunity to look at another list.  I make lists of things I want to buy.  Lists of things I wish I could buy but can probably never afford.   I’m a freak.

An extension of this is an annoyingly methodical approach to many things, including cookbooks.  I am working my way through Kitchen from front to back, trying everything I can get the ingredients for/get Geoff to eat.  I am so glad that I live with someone who does not mercilessly make fun of my need to do things in order.  I realize it’s probably weird, but it’s a compulsion.  I can’t help it.  That’s how I like to do things.  In order.

My new list-making obsession will hopefully help make me less squishy.  One of my co-workers posted that he had started using http://www.livestrong.com/ and so I clicked on it to see what it was all about.  For the past two days I have been writing down everything I ate and keeping track of the calories.  I even walked for an hour today with my laptop in my backpack, just so I could have enough spare calories to eat Mexican Lasagna tonight.  I’m not sure if this compulsion will last, and I almost never stick to anything long enough to lose weight, but at the moment, it’s fascinating.  Mostly I’d rather eat ice cream than be skinny.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

