RSS Feed

By Special Request

Posted on

By far the most interesting part of my day is going to be making dinner.  If you’re not interested in a cook-along, turn back now folks.  Geoff made a special request for stuffed peppers.  Usually when I ask him what he wants for dinner, he says,  “I don’t care,” so I was thrilled to be able to make him something he finally knew he wanted.  I’ve never made stuffed peppers before, and luckily, Geoff has never eaten them so there’s very little expectation.  It’s a Paula Deen recipe.  When has one of those ever been bad?  I’m going to review the ingredients and start prepping now.

As with many recipes, this one starts with me chopping an onion.  I don’t know how those TV chefs do this without ruining their makeup.  Thank goodness for a blogging brake that allows my eyes to stop burning.  And even with my extremely sub-par knife, I think my chopping skills are improving.  Back in the real world, I used to have a garlic press, but now I have to chop the cloves the old-fashioned way which leaves my hands smelling garlicky for hours.

It’s a good thing I was being thorough with the prep on this recipe instead of just winging it as I often do since it calls for a cup of cooked rice.  Good save.  Pre-chopping completed.  Cans and jars open.  Time to get this show on the road.

Sharp fingernails come in handy when making this recipe.  Possibly the best way to gut a bell pepper is just to tear the ribs and seeds out with your fingers.  It’s surprisingly satisfying.

Small kitchen syndrome attacks.  I’d recommending making the meat part of this recipe in a fairly large skillet, much like the 12 inch high-sided skillet I used to have, not the much smaller skillet that currently lives in my tiny Taiwanese kitchen.  You’ll be able to cook your meat much more quickly and get more color and flavor on it.  I think once it’s done cooking, I’ll transfer it to a mixing bowl to complete the filling.

Okay, so I got the filling all mixed and spooned into the gutted red peppers.  I was surprisingly able to fit all six halves (the red peppers were sold in packs of three, but the recipe says four) of the peppers onto my tiny oven tray, so I can cook everything all at once rather than in batches, as I so often do.  I have lots of filling left over and I’m trying to re-imagine another use for it.  Maybe stir in some more of the queso and serve it over some pasta?  Or as a topping for baked potatoes with some grated cheddar on top?  I’ll have to think of something.  It’s too good to go to waste.  The peppers are in the oven, so there’s almost nothing left to do but wait.

I'm not a food stylist, but I did cook these stuffed peppers.

Stuffed peppers are out of the oven and look and smell great.  If you know me at all, you know I hate vegetables.  This would definitely not be something I would order.  But Geoff wanted to try it, and I’m more than happy to cook it for him.  Can’t wait to see how he thinks it tastes.

“Refreshing, yet hearty,” says Geoff Griggs of My Living Room.  He cleaned his plate, so that’s a good sign.  Another happy customer.  Now what am I going to do with all these left overs?

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/stuffed-red-peppers-recipe/index.html

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention By Special Request « Project 11 -- Topsy.com

  2. So I just got updated on all your recent posts and I just have to say I love you. You crack me up. Those peppers do sound amazing and I hate veggies so that’s sayin something! I am so proud of you with your business adventures! You are so strong and wonderfully talented and have more courage than you think. You’re business is going to be fantastic; I only wish I could be there to see it! But that is what blogs are for 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

