RSS Feed

The Road to Recovery

Posted on

I spent my entire break feeling like crap.  I was snotty and coughing.  My head was heavy, and my body just wasn’t working right.  I felt like I looked completely gross.  No make-up, hair in a ponytail, wearing sweatpants and a fleece.  So not attractive.  So I decided for my last day off work, I was going to do my best to be pretty.

I fully believe that it’s what’s on the inside of a person that counts and that conventional beauty is mostly smoke and mirrors.  But I’m also in favor of a little vanity from time to time.  Feeling beautiful can really do a lot to improve my mood.  I know I’m never going to be on the cover of a magazine, but looking nice makes me feel more confident.  I smile more.  It’s easier for me to talk to people.  I feel like people will take me more seriously.  It gives me power.  I encourage a healthy perspective on vanity.

I took my time yesterday getting pretty.  I indulged in each step.  I put on nice smelling lotion when I got out of the shower.  I had fun playing with makeup.  I even curled my hair, which my fiancée loves. I chose a fun outfit and wore high heels, even though it makes me look like a giant. There’s something about high heels that forces femininity upon you.  They make every woman more elegant.  (If she can walk properly in them.)  When everything was in place, I spritzed myself with Chanel No. 5.  Heavenly.  And finally, I went to the nail shop and got a manicure and pedicure.  I didn’t feel like a sick person anymore.  I felt beautiful and sophisticated.  I didn’t care what others thought when they looked at me.  I wasn’t dressing up for them (well maybe a little for Geoff).  I was doing all this for me.  And it felt amazing.

I ended up having a wonderful night.  I left the house at 3:30 and didn’t get home until close to midnight.  We met friends while we were out, and we had a fantastic time eating and laughing together.  I even had enough white Russians to cause me to sing when I got home, which was probably much more fun for me than for everyone else.  So…

Indulge yourself from time to time.  Get hot.  You won’t regret it.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

