RSS Feed

The Loveliest of Friends

Posted on

This Saturday turned out to be nearly perfect.  It was both productive and relaxing.  We woke up a bit early and lounged around in bed for a while because it was so much warmer in the bedroom than the rest of the apartment.  After watching 30 Rock, I went to McDonald’s to get us breakfast.  A heavy breakfast and Dickens made me sleepy so I took a glorious nap.  I love sleeping in the middle of the day.  It almost feels like cheating.

We braved the wilds of Costco on a Saturday.  We didn’t find ranch dressing, but came home with some other treasures including a big bag of lemons and a huge bag of Tollhouse chocolate chips.  I used those chocolate chips to make peanut butter oatmeal chocolate chip cookies.  I don’t really think there’s anything else that needs to be said about those cookies.  The title of the recipe pretty much covers it.  I boxed up the cookies to take to a little get-together at our friend Gillian’s place, and we headed out into the cold once again.

When we arrived at Gill’s I was surprised to discover that our friends had actually organized this evening in honor of our engagement.  It was so sweet and so thoughtful.  Gill presented us with a scrapbook she had put together with photos and messages from our friends here in Taiwan and some of Geoff’s friends and family from back home.  I have to say it was one of the most thoughtful gifts I’ve ever received from a friend.  I could tell that she put a lot of effort and time into it.  I felt so loved.  I truly do have the loveliest of friends.  Thank you so much for thinking about us.  I had a fantastic time sharing wine and pizza and stories.  Can’t wait to see them at brunch this morning and eat some more.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

One response »

  1. Renee,
    I am so glad things are going well for you. Congratulations on your engagment. You are an amazing person who i am fortunate enough to call my cousin. So, thank you for being you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

