RSS Feed

Nope, Nada, Nothing

Posted on

I’ve been putting off posting all day because I haven’t been able to think of anything to write about.  I kept hoping that a topic would come to mind, but inspiration has yet to strike.  What can I say?  My life is pretty ordinary.  I read books, I watch tv, I eat food, I talk to my boyfriend.  That’s about it.  I’m pretty content with the way things are.

I guess the only thing that’s been on my mind lately is money.  It seems like there will just never be enough of it.  I wonder if there are really people in the world who say to themselves, “Okay, I think I have all the money I need.  I’m set.  I can relax.”  We’re planning our April trip to the UK and tickets are much more expensive than we expected since we’re travelling around the time of the Easter holiday.  There’s just always something that comes around to shock you out of your comfort and remind you that you’re poor.

I don’t want to have to be one of those people who is miserable every day because all their energy is consumed by making enough money just to feed and shelter their family.  Why have we set ourselves up for that disappointment?  I’m not an extravagant person.  I lead a pretty frugal life.  But somehow, I’m still in debt.  And since I’m a teacher, it will probably always be that way.  So how do I learn to be okay with that?  How do I let go of the anxiety?  Maybe there is no way.  Maybe financial misery is all there is for the lower middle-class.  Maybe that’s just my reality.  I seriously hope not.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

Leave a Reply

