RSS Feed

Starting Out

Posted on

The first steps are always the most difficult.  How to begin?  Does what I say now trap me forever?  Okay, relax, breathe, and just begin…

My father is always “encouraging” me to take up writing again.  For some reason he was apparently quite taken by my adolescent simpering angsty poetry.  I am no writer, but I do enjoy words.  So the idea is to write every day for a year.  To document my life candidly, and share everything.  I suppose the next year will be a somewhat public document.  I’m assuming very few people will actually see this or be interested.  But it’s not for them. This is my own personal challenge.

My life is mostly boring, but it is my own. I’ve used up 32 years so far, filled with turmoil, joy, loss, and an abundance of love.    Yet I have been given the chance to start over.  So for my dad, I’m going to write it all down.  I can’t promise focus.  I can’t promise there will be no dwelling on the past.  I definitely can’t promise chronological order.  But I shall do my best to say something every day.  And regardless, I’m sure Dad will think it’s all perfect.

I’m launching Project 11 four days early…  because I’m impatient.  And bored at work.  And excited and anxious.  And possibly narcissistic.  I like to think I’m just looking for a little connection in this beautiful terrible world we all stumble through.

Read my words.  Share my story.  I promise to be honest, though not brutally so.  I can already tell 2011 is going to be the best year yet.  Let’s go.

About Renee

Life should be awesome, even if your paycheck isn't. I'm trying to live awesomely on $20 a day.

2 responses »

  1. aha! So I went to your very first blog posting to get the synopsis of your purpose for blogging! I love it! Why didn’t I think of that? I always say this whenever I stumble upon someone’s blog. LOL

    Well, you have gained one lovely person who is finding your blog very interesting indeed! 🙂 And although I don’t know you personally, I agree with your dad: follow your gift of writing! I actually just started taking up my writing again, too, after putting it to the side for over 3 years.

    Best wishes to you and I will continue reading! 🙂

    x Jenn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

